When you want to remind your wife how you feel about her, consider sharing a love poem — written by yourself or by someone who says what you want to say. If you’re looking for romantic poetry for your wife, you can’t go wrong with the selections in this post, as long as you remember this: For your wife, the most meaningful part of getting a love poem is how you deliver it.

21 Love Poems for Your Wife

These love poems for your wife from the heart will speak volumes about how you feel. You don’t have to write your own poetry to share your sentiments. One of these beautiful poems can do the heavy lifting for you. Be creative in the way you present a poem to her. Sure, a book of poetry is always nice, but make it a little more personal. You might:

Recite one out loud to her over a candlelit dinner.Write one by hand and leave it on her pillow with a rose.Have your favorite written in calligraphy and frame it for her.

Just a tiny amount of effort will go a long way in making her day.

When You Are Old by William Butler Yeats

Your love lifts my soul from the body to the skyWhen you are old and grey and full of sleep,And nodding by the fire, take down this book,And slowly read, and dream of the soft lookYour eyes had once, and of their shadows deep;How many loved your moments of glad grace,And loved your beauty with love false or true,But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you,Your eyes had once, and of their shadows deep;And loved the sorrows of your changing faceAnd bending down beside the glowing bars,Murmur, a little sadly, how Love fled And paced upon the mountains overhead And hid his face amid a crowd of stars.

I Carry Your Heart by e.e. cummings

Yours by Daniel Hoffman

I am yours as the summer air at evening isPossessed by the scent of linden blossoms,As the snowcap gleams with lightLent it by the brimming moon.Without you I’d be an unleafed treeBlasted in a bleakness with no Spring.Your love is the weather of my being.What is an island without the sea? I carry your heart with me (I carry it inmy heart) I am never without it (anywhereI go you go, my dear; and whatever is doneby only me is your doing, my darling) I fearno fate (for you are my fate, my sweet) I wantno world (for beautiful you are my world, my true)and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meantand whatever a sun will always sing is you Here is the deepest secret nobody knows(here is the root of the root and the bud of the budand the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which growshigher than soul can hope or mind can hide)and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart I carry your heart (I carry it in my heart)

You’re Perfect by Joanna Fuchs

Your femininity attracts me;Your steady strength supports me;Your tenderness sustains me;You’re the perfect love for me.

Your Love Lifts My Soul by Rumi

She Had the Most Beautiful Thing by Atticus

She had the most beautiful thing that I had ever seenAnd it took only her laugh to realize.that beauty was the least of her.

Looking for Your Face by Rumi

From the beginning of my life I have been looking for your face but today I have seen it Today I have seen the charm, the beauty, the unfathomable grace of the face that I was looking for Today I have found you and those who laughed and scorned me yesterday are sorry that they were not looking as I did I am bewildered by the magnificence of your beauty and wish to see you with a hundred eyes My heart has burned with passion and has searched forever for this wondrous beauty that I now behold I am ashamed to call this love human and afraid of God to call it divine Your fragrant breath like the morning breeze has come to the stillness of the garden You have breathed new life into me I have become your sunshine and also your shadow My soul is screaming in ecstasy Every fiber of my being is in love with you Your effulgence has lit a fire in my heart and you have made radiant for me the earth and sky My arrow of love has arrived at the target I am in the house of mercy and my heart is a place of prayer

In Idle Dreams by Joanna Fuchs

In idle dreams of long ago, I imagined my true love; A perfect match, a soulmate, An angel from above. Now you’re here, and now I know Our love will stay and thrive and grow.

Love by Roy Croft

I love you Not only for who you are But for what I am when I am with you. I love you Not only for what you have made of yourself But for what you are making of me. I love you  For the part of me  That you bring out. I love you For putting your hand Into my heaped-up heart And passing over All the foolish, weak things That you can’t help Dimly seeing there, And for drawing out Into the light All the beautiful belongings That no one else had looked Quite far enough to find I love you because you Are helping me to make Of the lumber of my life Not a tavern But a temple. Out of the works Of my every day Not a reproach But a song. I love you Because you have done More than any creed Could have done To make me good. And more than any fate Could have done To make me happy. You have done it Without a touch, Without a word, Without a sign. You have done it By being yourself. Perhaps that is what Being a friend means, After all.

Unending Love by Rabindranath Tagore

I seem to have loved you in numberless forms, numberless times… In life after life, in age after age, forever. My spellbound heart has made and remade the necklace of songs, That you take as a gift, wear round your neck in your many forms, In life after life, in age after age, forever. Whenever I hear old chronicles of love, its age-old pain, Its ancient tale of being apart or together. As I stare on and on into the past, in the end you emerge, Clad in the light of a pole-star piercing the darkness of time: You become an image of what is remembered forever. You and I have floated here on the stream that brings from the fount. At the heart of time, love of one for another. We have played along side millions of lovers, shared in the same Shy sweetness of meeting, the same distressful tears of farewell- Old love but in shapes that renew and renew forever. Today it is heaped at your feet, it has found its end in you The love of all man’s days both past and forever: Universal joy, universal sorrow, universal life. The memories of all loves merging with this one love of ours – And the songs of every poet past and forever. 115 Of The Best Love Messages For Your Wife 105 Beautiful Good Morning Messages For Him or Her 131 Of The Best Inspirational I Love You Quotes For Him Or Her

Proximity by Michael Faudet

We joined the dots from A to B, the line we drew from you to me, traced empty shores across the sea, over mountain top, past forest tree, along the roads and walking tracks, all bridges burned, no looking back, for the love we have, no gate can stop, no barking dog or bolted lock, for what is real is meant to be, when two hearts beat- in proximity.

In This Space by Trista Mateer

The Sun and The Moon by Nikita Gill

Aim for a love  that reminds you of the devotion the sun has to the moon. Whether she is in fractions or she is whole, he still shrouds his intense light in the darkness of the night. To give her the entire sky, without judgment, so she can shine in any way she wants to. You deserve someone who adores you on the days you are in broken fragments too. You deserve someone who lets you glow in every way you need to.

Pathways by Rainer Maria Rilke

Understand, I’ll slip quietly away from the noisy crowd when I see the pale stars rising, blooming, over the oaks. I’ll pursue solitary pathways through the pale twilit meadows, with only this one dream: You come too.

Beauty That Is Never Old by James Weldon Johnson

When buffeted and beaten by life’s storms, When by the bitter cares of life oppressed, I want no surer haven than your arms, I want no sweeter heaven than your breast. When over my life’s way there falls the blight Of sunless days, and nights of starless skies; Enough for me, the calm and steadfast light That softly shines within your loving eyes. The world, for me, and all the world can hold Is circled by your arms; for me there lies, Within the lights and shadows of your eyes, The only beauty that is never old.

What Greater Thing by George Eliot

I Love You For What You Are by Carl Sandburg

I love you for what you are, But I love you yet more for what you are going to be. I love you not so much for your realities as for your ideals. I pray for your desires that they may be great, Rather than for your satisfactions, which may be so hazardously little. A satisfied flower is one whose petals are about to fall. The most beautiful rose is one hardly more than a bud Wherein the pangs and ecstasies of desire are working for a larger and finer growth. Not always shall you be what you are now. You are going forward toward something great. I am on the way with you and therefore I love you.

Whenever I Am Away from You by Christopher Poindexter

Whenever I am away from you, The distance between us A burdensome thing, I always think of you in colors, The smell of coffee as you so Proudly make it for me, The perfect sunlight spilling in through the window. I miss you even when you are beside me. I dream of your body even when you are sleeping in my arms. The words I love you could never be enough. I suppose we’ll have to invent new ones.

I Would Sleep by Tyler Knott Gregson

I would sleep with the thought of you, With the silhouette of a single memory, With the scent left hours after you’ve touched me. I would lose myself in the folds of your dress, The fabric of the shirt you wore When you fell asleep leaned against my shoulder. Paint me in the soft focus fog of your tenderness, Pull me from myself.

Habitation by Margaret Atwood

Marriage is not A house, or even a tent It is before that, and colder: The edge of the forest, the edge of the desert The unpainted stairs At the back, where we squat Outdoors, eating popcorn Where painfully and with wonder At having survived this far We are learning to make fire

Our Souls Are Mirrors by Rupi Kaur

god must have kneaded you and i from the same dough rolled us out as one on the baking sheet must have suddenly realized how unfair it was to put that much magic in one person and sadly split that dough in two how else is it that when i look in the mirror i am looking at you when you breathe my own lungs fill with air that we just met but we have known each other our whole lives if we were not made as one to begin with

Which of these love poems for your wife stood out to you?

Now that you have some material for your “Short Love Poems for My Wife” folder, which poems stand out as your favorites? Which will you modify to make them more personal?  When you unleash your first choice of poetry for your wife, here are some additional ideas on ways to give it to her:

Send her a poem in text messages — a few lines at a time. Send her small gifts with parts of the poem attached to them. Compose a song with one, and sing it to her. 

The more fun you have with this, the more she’ll enjoy it, too. 

21 Love Poems For Your Wife - 1821 Love Poems For Your Wife - 8921 Love Poems For Your Wife - 8621 Love Poems For Your Wife - 3021 Love Poems For Your Wife - 2521 Love Poems For Your Wife - 6621 Love Poems For Your Wife - 1521 Love Poems For Your Wife - 19