I’d imagine it also sounds kind of incredible too – after all, the vintage components aren’t just for show. Let’s take another moment to admire how this thing looks, as well. The 18.5” by 9.73” hand-made wood enclosure looks positively gorgeous, while the user-controlled LEDs in the vacuum tubes are a very nice touch. It’s definitely a piece of technol0gy you’re going to want to show off – I know I definitely would if I decided to purchase it. Now, as is so often the case, looks and functionality like this don’t really come cheap. If you want to preorder your own Tubecore Duo, it’s going to run you around $480.00 – and that’s with a $170 pre-order discount. Plus, that price is just for the basic model. See, that’s another thing I forgot to mention: Duo is actually designed to be modular, as well.  There are two different computer systems to choose from (Raspberry Pi and UDO), and several different types of vacuum tube as well; the ‘best’ model of the speaker is actually closer to $680.00. So, yeah. Like I said, kind of pricey. But judging from what I’ve seen so far, it’s definitely worth the purchase. I’d nab one myself, were I actually looking for a new sounds system. [via uncrate]

   

Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 90Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 4Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 55Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 28Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 36Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 81Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 87Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 66Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 39Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 75Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 45Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 74Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 66Tubecore Merges Old School Audio With Modern Design - 65